ISA 2021 New

International Safety Awards 2021

Our International Safety Awards 2021 scheme is now open to organisations of any sector or size.

What are the International Safety Awards?

The International Safety Awards are health and safety’s most prestigious award scheme. They recognise organisations that have demonstrated commitment to occupational health, safety and wellbeing, regardless of their size or the sector they operate within.

Why should I apply?

It takes time, effort and hard work to improve health and safety culture within an organisation. Not only do the International Safety Awards give you the recognition you deserve, they also help:

  • Motivate your team
  • Prove your success both within your organisation and to others in the industry
  • Benchmark yourself against other leaders in the field
  • Win new clients, partners and business opportunities
  • Showcase your commitment to excellent health and safety standards.

How can I apply?

Applying for an International Safety Award is simple; 

  1. Check if your site/business site is eligible here 
  2. Purchase your application 
  3. Log into our online award platform and allocate your application licence(s)  
  4. Carefully read the Marking Scheme, Guidance Notes and 2020 Chief Adjudicators Report before attempting each question to ensure you get the result you deserve 
  5. Answer 12 questions - be sure to make use of the resources above to maximise your marks 
  6. Consider applying for the 'Free to Enter' Awards  
  7. Submit your application online before 5 February 2021. 

Buy your application now - Early Bird Price

Buy you application before the 30 October 2020 for the early bird price. Please login to your member account to receive your discount. 



£440.00(exc. VAT)



£335.00(exc. VAT)


Early bird offer ends 30 October 2020. Normal price: 

Non-members: £495 (exc VAT)

Members: £380 (exc VAT)

Award categories

International Safety Award

Recognises commitment to exemplary health, safety and wellbeing management. Awards are site specific. Successful applicants will be awarded Distinction, Merit or Pass grades based on their score. There is no quota of grades to be awarded. All applicants are invited to celebrate their success, and winners can collect their certificates and trophies at the 2021 awards ceremony and gala dinner.

Additional award categories

International Safety Awards applicants can enter the following three awards.Questions have been provided within your application form. Only one application per category, per site/business unit will be accepted. 

CEO Award 2021 – Leadership in adversity

Rewarding leadership and strategic vision of a CEO (Managing Director, President, Chairperson or Director General) who has made a vital contribution to the health and safety of their business and to the wider society during 2020 by taking an active role in aligning and championing their organisation's health, safety and wellbeing interests with their internal and external stakeholders.  

Health Safety and Wellbeing Ambassador of the Year Award

This award recognises the exceptional contribution of an individual ensuring the health, safety and wellbeing of their work colleagues and others. 

Team of the Year Award

The Team of the Year Award will recognise outstanding achievements resulting in a significant improvement to health, safety or wellbeing, from a collaboration of stakeholders. This may include members of the applying organisation, its suppliers, subcontractors and/or the wider community.  

Auto-entry Awards

Sector Awards

Recognise overall 'best in class' submissions to the International Safety Awards, by industry sector. This is a great way to stand out amongst peers and encourages best practice. 

Sector Award categories are: 

  • Manufacturing 
  • Oil, gas, mining and quarrying
  • Power and utilities
  • Construction and property activities 
  • Wholesale and retail services
  • Transportation, distribution and storage 
  • Leisure, sports clubs, hospitality and catering 
  • Education 
  • Health and social care 
  • Not for profit 
  • Financial, IT, legal, scientific and technical services, media 
  • Local government, defence and public services 
  • Onshore major hazard. 

Best in Country Award

All International Safety Award applicants are entered into this award, provided there is a significant number of applications from the same country. The highest scoring and best overall application will be awarded.

Shortlists will be released prior to the Gala Dinner and winners will be announced on the night.

Best in Company Award

This award is for organisations with 50 or more participating sites and recognises the site(s) with the most outstanding applications. 

Shortlists will be released prior to the Gala Dinner and winners will be announced on the night.

Free to Enter Award Categories

You do not have to purchase an International Safety Award to enter any of the following 'Free to Enter' Awards. 

The James Tye Award

Recognises an organisation or team of individuals who have developed and run a campaign in 2020 that has made a significant impact on health, safety or wellbeing in the workplace. 

Health and Safety Transformation Award - Sponsored by Croner-i

This category is for organisations that have changed or transformed any aspect of health, safety or wellbeing to a significant extent through the use of information. Applicants will be asked to describe the transformation, how it was planned, what information was used to help achieve the transformation and what positive impact it has had on the organisation.  

Wellbeing Initiative Award powered by Being Well Together

This award recognises organisations that have demonstrated a proactive approach to improving employee wellbeing in the workplace. This must be through a new or unique objective with a clear and measurable outcome, over and above the organisation’s routine work. 

NEW: Crisis Response Award

This new award recognises organisations that have gone the extra mile to protect their employees, supply chain and wider community against any crisis faced in 2020.

Applicants will be required to describe the business interruption and explain how they responded as an organisation to minimise the impact on employees, finance, culture, job security, mental health and wellbeing and any other relevant areas.

NEW: Financial Wellbeing Award

NEW FOR 2020

This award recognises organisations that have demonstrated a proactive and effective approach to improving employee’s financial wellbeing. 

Key dates

30 October 2020 Early bird deadline
5 February 2021 Application submission deadline
11 March 2021 Results emailed to applicants
12 March 2021 Winners list published
15 March 2021 Result enquiry deadline
7 May 2020 Gala Dinner booking deadline
21 May 2021 Gala Dinner


Sponsored by

Additional support and videos


We'll shortly be announcing our International Safety Awards webinar where you'll get the chance to ask experts on the best way to craft your application. Details of the webinar will be announced in due course. 

If you would like to register your interest for the forthcoming webinar, please complete this form 

Register your Interest